Luxury Beauty: Chanel Makeup

A few weeks ago now I decided to have a little bit of a makeup shopping spree. Everything in my makeup bag was close to being completely run out, but I was desperately hanging on to them as they are all products I love. However, when it got to the point that I just had to start throwing things away, I decided to treat myself to some new bits. I usually choose higher end makeup brands, my favourites being MAC and Smashbox, as I believe they are much better quality than the cheaper drugstore brands. This time round though, I treated myself to some luxury items, and welcomed some designer products into my makeup bag…

img_3989

img_3998

img_4001

Chanel Beauty is not something I have had much experience using. I have quite a collection of their gorgeous nail varnishes now, but apart from that, I haven’t previously bought any of their makeup. So when I approached the Chanel counter, I wasn’t expecting to walk away with anything. After speaking to the makeup artist working on the counter about the products, I decided to give it a go. Why not try something new and treat myself?!

This is what I came away with: Chanel Le Vernis Nail Colour in Distraction & Lotus Rouge, Chanel Precision Eye Definer, Chanel Inimitable Intense Mascara and Chanel Rouge Allure Lip Gloss. The eye crayon was my most adventurous purchase. I’m usually never without my liquid liner, but I wanted to try something different and see what different looks I could play around with. When I first applied this, I accidentally went really heavy, which usually causes the kohl to print onto my upper eyelid everytime I open my eyes! However, this didn’t budge. In fact, it didn’t budge all day. I’m impressed. Also, I like to have winged eyeliner, which I totally couldn’t do with this rather thick pencil – until I discovered the blending tool on the other end of the pencil. I swept it over the end of the eye line and it formed a perfect flick – result!

img_3995

I got the mascara in brown instead of my usual black. No idea why, I just felt like it! I’ve never really fallen in love with a mascara before. They always look great at first, then the brush gets clumpy and dry and it just doesn’t come off on the lashes like I want it to. This brush is completely plastic though, including the end, which is usually made of a different material (I wanted to say ‘brushy’ but I know how ridiculous it sounds!). It separates the lashes SO well, and coats them right to the ends. I am in love with it. Completely obsessed. I don’t know yet if it will just turn clumpy like brushes always seem to do, but we’ll see.

Finally, I got this beautiful lip gloss in the shade Genie. It’s kind of a peachy colour: a sort of orangey pink. It’s not a strong gloss so it does have a degree of transparency, but it’s super thick and feels lovely. It’s not sticky at all, it’s just glossy and shiny. It stayed on for a good few hours, but then I ate and it mostly came off (which I find with most glosses, they aren’t as long wearing as lipsticks) so I reapplied.

img_3992

img_3993

I’m super impressed with all my new Chanel products. They are absolutely fantastic quality, you truly do get what you pay for. In fact, I’m so impressed, I’m going to splash out and try more of their range in the future.

Have you girls ever tried any Chanel products? Would you give them a go?

signature

Leave a Reply

